Safer Neighbourhoods Awards 2012

Safer NeighbourhoodsPolice Authority


Local Community Safety Champions Announced in Broxbourne

SNH Awards 2012: Broxbourne

Hertfordshire Police Authority has named the regional winners for the annual Safer Neighbourhood Awards 2012.  The winners are invited to a ceremony at Hertford’s County Hall in May, where the overall county title winners will be announced on the night.


A local panel of judges from the Police Authority, Constabulary and Broxbourne Borough Council went through dozens of nominations to select the deserving winners.  They were:


Community Safety Citizen’s Award
Carol Bowman


Carol is the Chairman of the Holdbrook Residents Association, which has been running successfully now for three years. During this time Carol has worked alongside Broxbourne Council, Broxbourne Housing Association and the Constabulary, in trying to develop a better living environment, by encouraging young people to be involved in local issues around the estate. Carol has also supported residents when dealing with police matters, by reporting incidents on their behalf, encouraging residents to make statements and helping with enquiries, making the Holdbrook a better place to live.

Neighbourhood Police Officer of the Year Award
PC Mark Hodges
from Cheshunt SNT


PC Mark Hodges was nominated due to his constant professionalism and dedication to his role and the area he covers. His beat is one of the safest and well looked after and there is always positive feedback from residents and shopkeepers who live and work there. Mark also successfully managed to charge an individual for a total of three offences as a result of months of hard work and a ‘never give up’ attitude. His work ethic and attitude towards making his community a safer place deserves recognition as he is an outstanding officer who is a credit not only to Hoddesdon but to the Constabulary.


Police Community Support Officer (PCSO) of the Year Award
PCSO Jane Collins (Waltham Cross and Theobalds) and PCSO  Kayleigh Simm(Goffs Oak and Cheshunt West)


Following the public disorder at Waltham Cross in August 2011, Jane and Kayleigh were drafted to Operation Allay to assist with the investigation. Over a number of weeks, they tirelessly viewed hundreds of hours of CCTV coverage of the incident. This required them to be based at another station, working additional hours and having rest days cancelled. All of these things they willing and unselfishly did.   


Due to their concerted efforts, they successfully gathered vital evidence of numerous offences and applying their local knowledge identified the protagonists; who were duly arrested. In addition, they subsequently assisted with compiling the evidence which ensured these offenders were not only charged and remanded, but also found guilty at court and received custodial sentences.


Neighbourhood Policing Team of the Year Award
Broxbourne Crime Prevention SNAT Team
PCSO Scott Rome and PCSO Adrian Pomfrett


Scott and Adrian are tasked to lead on Crime Prevention for Broxbourne CSP. They source many different funding routes to ensure they can purchase as much crime prevention material as possible, to have the maximum impact across the borough. This has included providing and fixing safe screws to prevent number plate theft, property marking and subsequently submitting details onto the Immobilise Site, property marking in schools, delivering counterfeit note detector pens to most shops across Broxbourne, distributing disability hate crime reporting packs to various day centres for adults with learning difficulties and holding ‘Keep Safe’ mornings.


Dr Sarah Coffey JP, Police Authority Lead for Broxbourne said: “These awards are a great opportunity to recognise the excellent work of police officers, PCSOs, community safety groups and members of the public who work together to help keep Broxbourne safe.  I have been impressed with the number of nominations we received this year from both members of the public and local partners, it has been a difficult decision to identify those who should go forward to the County judging panel. 


“Our Broxbourne winners were agreed by the judging panel and I hope their exemplary contribution to our local communities, will be successful at the next stage of these awards.   I would also like to express my thanks and appreciation to everyone who took the time to make nominations, and of course to those who were nominated for all of their excellent work.”


Chief Inspector for Broxbourne – Dave Newsome added: “I am very grateful to our community and partners for taking the time to nominate individuals and teams for this year’s awards. The awards are a fantastic opportunity to highlight the efforts of team Broxbourne, where there are so many examples of community and partners working together toward community safety. Our nominees continue to make Broxbourne a safe place to live and visit and where levels of crime and anti-social behaviour continue to fall.”

Nominations opened in December 2011 to members of the public and ‘partners’ of the Constabulary from across Hertfordshire, including local councils, the Fire & Rescue Service and voluntary groups, such as Neighbourhood Watch.


Hundreds of nominations were received online and have contributed to one of the most hotly-contested Safer Neighbourhoods Awards in its six-year history.